FlowForming - ATS Leichtmetallräder | Nothing beATS your performance

FlowForming technology by ATS.

video

FlowForming by ATS – a technology that combines just the best out of two different worlds. This innovative production process maintains the advantages of casting production, such as the design flexibility, and at the same time ensures optimization of weight, resistence and stability.

You think that is not possible? It is – FlowForming Technology by ATS makes it possible.

video

FlowForming by ATS – a technology that combines just the best out of two different worlds. This innovative production process maintains the advantages of casting production, such as the design flexibility, and at the same time ensures optimization of weight, resistence and stability.

You think that is not possible? It is – FlowForming Technology by ATS makes it possible.

The production process - how exactly does FlowForming by ATS work?

How to imagine the FlowForming production process? To put it as short as possible: parts of the cast alloy wheels get heated to approximately 350 degrees, „rolled-out“ and thereby compressed. To enable this process and to achieve the desired shape, we stretch the wheel blank over a rotating cylinder. The rolling heads, which are pressed against the blank from the outside with high pressure ( approximately 100 tonnes) and are slowly moving downwards, are also rotating. That process obviously is responsible for the technology’s name: FlowForming.

video

How to imagine the FlowForming production process? To put it as short as possible: parts of the cast alloy wheels get heated to approximately 350 degrees, „rolled-out“ and thereby compressed. To enable this process and to achieve the desired shape, we stretch the wheel blank over a rotating cylinder. The rolling heads, which are pressed against the blank from the outside with high pressure ( approximately 100 tonnes) and are slowly moving downwards, are also rotating. That process obviously is responsible for the technology’s name: FlowForming.

video

FlowForming technology by ATS – benefits and advantages

video

By using the FlowForming technology we do not only save a lot of raw materials, but also enable thinner wall thickness with high stability – a crucial driving dynamics advantage. Talking about the larger wheels, we thereby can save up to 8kg weight per car. That really is a big advantage. Not only for your driving experience but also for our nature. The lower weight helps to reduce emission significantly.

video

By using the FlowForming technology we do not only save a lot of raw materials, but also enable thinner wall thickness with high stability – a crucial driving dynamics advantage. Talking about the larger wheels, we thereby can save up to 8kg weight per car. That really is a big advantage. Not only for your driving experience but also for our nature. The lower weight helps to reduce emission significantly.

Are you interested?

Please feel free to contact our service team or any of our dealers directly.

Take part in our ATS FlowForming Quiz now!

Come visit our Social Media channels and answer our competition questions. All those who answer right will be entered to win a great ATS fan package. We can’t wait to hear what you think!

FlowForming - ATS Leichtmetallräder | Nothing beATS your performance

FlowForming Technologie by ATS.

video

FlowForming by ATS – eine Technologie und innovative Fertigungsvariante, die das Beste aus zwei Welten vereint. Denn dank des angewandten Gussverfahrens behalten wir uns nicht nur die absolute Freiheit in Sachen Gestaltung bei, wir optimieren auch noch das Baugewicht unserer Räder, ohne dabei an Festigkeit und Stabilität zu verlieren.

Geht nicht, denken Sie? Doch – FlowForming by ATS macht es möglich.

video

FlowForming by ATS – eine Technologie und innovative Fertigungsvariante, die das Beste aus zwei Welten vereint. Denn dank des angewandten Gussverfahrens behalten wir uns nicht nur die absolute Freiheit in Sachen Gestaltung bei, wir optimieren auch noch das Baugewicht unserer Räder, ohne dabei an Festigkeit und Stabilität zu verlieren.

Geht nicht, denken Sie? Doch – FlowForming by ATS macht es möglich.

Das Produktionsverfahren – wie funktioniert FlowForming by ATS?

Kurz gesprochen, werden Teile des zuvor gegossenen Felgenrohlings im Anschluss an das Gießen auf rund 350 Grad erhitzt, ausgewalzt und verdichtet. Hierfür wird der Rohling auf einen entsprechenden Zylinder gespannt. Beides – sowohl Rohling als auch Zylinder rotieren, ebenso die Rollköpfe, die sich von außen mit einem Druck von bis zu 100 Tonnen an die Rohlinge pressen und nach unten fahren. Dabei wird das Metall in die gewünschte Form gebracht und „fließend verformt“. Dies erklärt auch den Namen: “Flowforming“.

video

Kurz gesprochen, werden Teile des zuvor gegossenen Felgenrohlings im Anschluss an das Gießen auf rund 350 Grad erhitzt, ausgewalzt und verdichtet. Hierfür wird der Rohling auf einen entsprechenden Zylinder gespannt. Beides – sowohl Rohling als auch Zylinder rotieren, ebenso die Rollköpfe, die sich von außen mit einem Druck von bis zu 100 Tonnen an die Rohlinge pressen und nach unten fahren. Dabei wird das Metall in die gewünschte Form gebracht und „fließend verformt“. Dies erklärt auch den Namen: “Flowforming“.

video

Die FlowForming Technologie by ATS bringt mit sich viele Vorteile.

video

Durch die FlowForming Technologie by ATS spart man nicht nur Rohstoffe und damit auch Gewicht ein, man ermöglicht gleichzeitig eine geringere Wandstärke, ohne Stabilität zu verlieren – ein entscheidender fahrdynamischer Vorteil. Bei großen Rädern kann man sage und schreibe bis zu 8kg Gewicht pro Fahrzeug einsparen. Dieses geringere Gewicht verhilft zusätzlich dazu, die Emission deutlich zu reduzieren.

video

Durch die FlowForming Technologie by ATS spart man nicht nur Rohstoffe und damit auch Gewicht ein, man ermöglicht gleichzeitig eine geringere Wandstärke, ohne Stabilität zu verlieren – ein entscheidender fahrdynamischer Vorteil. Bei großen Rädern kann man sage und schreibe bis zu 8kg Gewicht pro Fahrzeug einsparen. Dieses geringere Gewicht verhilft zusätzlich dazu, die Emission deutlich zu reduzieren.

Interesse geweckt?

Dann wenden Sie sich gerne direkt an einen unserer Händler

Jetzt an unserem ATS FlowForming Quiz teilnehmen!

Einfach unsere Social-Media-Kanäle besuchen, die Gewinnspielfrage richtig beantworten und mit etwas Glück ein tolles ATS-Fanpaket gewinnen.